"The Re-Dedication of the Gary Land Company Building"
In June of 1906, the GARY LAND COMPANY BUILDING was built. It became Gary's
first city hall, the first post office, the first school, the first of everything until that subsidiary of the Steel
Corporation could lay out the town and develop it. Thus, this building that was re-dedicated on July 30, 2006, is
historic because it stands in its original form (with the exception of the porch). It was maintained by all of Gary*s administrations.
It is on the National Register of Historic Places, which was done during the administration of Richard
G. Hatcher by a city employee, Gus Giniakos, who currently lives in Martinsville, Indiana. This building was
maintained as a museum of Gary history by the former Gary Historical Society, the group which disbanded during the Richard
G. Hatcher Administration.
The current *Custodian* of the GARY LAND COMPANY BUILDING is the GARY
HISTORICAL & CULTURAL SOCIETY, Inc. This group was formed in 1976 during the country*s bi-centennial year with
a grant from the Indiana Committee for the Humanities. The purpose of that grant was to recognize and to pull together the
various ethnic groups which helped and continue to help in the growth and development of Gary. This recognition and celebration
of Gary's cultural and ethnic diversity continues as one of our major missions today.
We re-dedicated this building on July 30, 2006, to pay tribute to the date history records
as the date Gary became officially organized as a town. On July 17, 1906, the town of Gary, Indiana,
was INCORPORATED under the general law for the incorporation of towns. As a town, an election was held, and trustees voted
upon: President of the Board of Trustees was Thomas E. Knotts. Millard A. Caldwell and
John E. Sears were the two other trustees voted into office. THESE NAMES ARE CARVED ON THE STONE THAT IS
ON THE BACK OF THE LOT."